What is a multisig wallet (multisig) and how does it work?

Multisig wallet (multisig) can become one of the most valuable tools for crypto enthusiasts. However, many investors have never even heard of the term before. So, what is a multisig wallet? Check out our guide to find out what it is and see if you should use it.

What is a multisig wallet?

A multisig wallet is a special type of crypto wallet for securely storing cryptocurrencies. You can only access cryptocurrencies if two or more signatures are entered together.

A multisig wallet can be thought of as something like a multi-key safe deposit box. Such a box contains assets that can only be opened by inserting several keys into several locks. A multisig wallet is essentially a digital version. Cryptocurrency is stored in the wallet, and transactions can only be carried out after several users enter their unique signatures or keys.

Multisig wallets have been around since 2013 and they come in a variety of forms. When you set up a wallet, you can decide exactly how many private keys are available and how many are needed to open the wallet. A common variation is the two-out-of-three multisigma. This style has three unique signatures, and any two of the three can be used to authenticate a transaction. Other common options include three out of five, two out of two, and five out of seven wallets.

How does the Multisig wallet work?

No matter how many keyholders you have, the basic process for using a multisig wallet is always the same. It all starts with the fact that one of the users decides to make a transaction using a wallet. He enters the details of the transaction into the wallet and enters his key to sign the transaction. However, the transaction has not been completed yet. It will be in a pending state until all the necessary keys have signed the transaction. After entering the required number of keys, the wallet itself signs the transaction and sends the funds to the appropriate address.

Multisig wallets do not have a hierarchy. For example, if a multisig wallet requires four out of five private keys to confirm a transaction, then no special signature is required to complete the transaction. Instead, any four of the five users can sign the transaction in any order. Transactions do not expire. Transaction proposals remain pending until all required signatures have been submitted.

Single key wallets vs multi key wallets

Multisig wallets have several key differences from standard single-key wallets. A single-key address is usually the primary method of storing Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. Users who own coins have a single private key that they can use to access and transfer their funds. This method may work well for private users.

However, things get more complicated when cryptocurrency is used for business or group efforts. There have been cases in the past where a company was unable to access its funds because the sole owner of the key was unable or unwilling to transact. For example, when QuadrigaCX CEO Jerry Cotten died in December 2018, over $137 million worth of cryptocurrency was lost. The use of a multisig process simplifies access to funds and allows different employees to conduct transactions as needed.

While multisig wallets provide additional security and reliability, they do add some complexity to the process. Single key users have more control over their funds. They do not need to obtain permission from other people to conduct transactions or perform additional actions related to the use of their wallets.

Multisig wallet: advantages

Multisig wallets are popular because they provide several unique benefits for crypto traders.

Enhanced security

One of the main advantages of these wallets is that they provide a backup plan in case something goes wrong. As long as your wallet does not require all signatures to access funds, you can avoid being blocked.

For example, you can create a "two out of three" wallet and store one private key on your phone, one on your laptop, and one on a piece of paper. If one of your signatures is stolen or lost, you will still be able to access your funds. Therefore, multisig wallets can be a great way to solve security problems.

Two-factor authentication

The requirement for multiple signatures also enables two-factor authentication (2FA). If someone can steal one of your keys, you can still prevent them from withdrawing funds from your account. You can store all private keys yourself or share them with others. In any case, this ensures that each transaction is fully verified before it is completed.

Making decisions

When the keys to a wallet are shared among multiple people, this allows the group to jointly control the funds. Everyone can see the funds and propose changes, but no one can transfer the funds themselves. This is very useful when making business decisions. Essentially, the wallet acts as a form of voting, whereby transactions only go through with the consent of a certain majority of users.

Escrowed transactions

When you are transacting with another party, it can be useful to hold funds in an escrow. Escrow transactions essentially ensure that neither party can receive funds, services, or products if the other party fails to honor their end of the transaction. Two of the three wallets allow you to enter into contracts with cryptocurrencies on an escrow basis. These transactions begin with the payer depositing their funds into the wallet. Once the other party provides the agreed goods or services, both parties can sign a wallet to transfer funds to the merchant. In the event of disputes, there is an impartial third party with a key that can award funds to the seller or buyer, as appropriate.

Multisig wallet: risks and disadvantages

Although multisig wallets are very useful, they do not work in all situations. There are some potential disadvantages.

Transaction speed

Adding additional signature requirements tends to slightly increase the duration of the transaction. If you can contact other key holders and coordinate the transaction, it won't take long. However, when you can't contact the other member, things get more complicated. Transactions that would otherwise be completed in seconds can take days to complete.

Technical Knowledge

Setting up a multisig wallet will require a few extra steps. Often you have to work through a third-party wallet provider, which can make the process a little more complicated. Since multisig wallets are only a few years old, it can be difficult to explain to others how they work, and regulations have not yet caught up with the new technology. Especially when creating a multisig wallet for your business, it is important to carefully study how wallets work and make sure you are doing everything right.

Fraud

Giving others access to your funds can be risky. Although rare, there have been cases where people have created a multisig wallet and then their friends, relatives or business associates have taken the money.

Multisig wallets are also involved in some common online scams. A typical multisig scam starts with the seller offering a cheap cryptocurrency and then saying they will send the buyer a wallet key. The buyer is unaware that the wallet is actually one of two multisig wallets, and the scammer removes the money from the wallet as soon as the victim pays.

Best multisig wallets to use

Keep in mind that not all multisig wallets are the same. Different crypto wallets have different levels of functionality. Here are some of the most popular options among crypto investors.

Armory

Armory is the most commonly used multisig wallet for BTC. It is useful in that it provides many different styles of wallets and has built-in protection against some hacks. Another big plus of Armory is that it offers an offline mode where you store your private keys on USB sticks. Just keep in mind that you may have to pay transaction fees if you want to access certain features.

Electrum

Electrum — one of the oldest multi-sig wallets for BTC. The interface of this wallet is very convenient and safe. You install it on your device without having to download the entire blockchain, and it integrates with other wallets like Ledger and Trezor. Electrum is also very easy to use as it works with simple payment verification. The only downside to this wallet is that it doesn't support other currencies than bitcoin.

Carbon

The biggest advantage Carbon Wallet is that it is a multi-currency wallet. Unlike many other wallets, it allows you to add many of the best cryptocurrencies to your wallet, including ERC-20 standard tokens. This makes Carbon Wallet ideal for businesses that work with a large number of smart contracts. However, please note that Carbon Wallet is a hot wallet that is always connected to the internet. This makes it a little more vulnerable to online attacks.

BitGo

BitGo is a bitcoin wallet that allows for many useful multi-sig integrations. Unlike many other cryptocurrency wallets, BitGo allows you to integrate your wallet with third-party cryptocurrency exchanges. Whichever integration you use, Bitgo's interactive design is intuitive and easy to use. Its open source wallet has many useful options such as free hack insurance and a desktop or web version. Just keep in mind that you will have to pay a little more for these advanced features.

Is it worth using a multisig wallet?

Whether or not to use a multisig wallet depends on your situation. It is often recommended for groups of people or for individuals who prefer increased privacy. However, if you are easily confused by technology or need fast transactions, a multisig wallet might not be for you. To decide if these wallets are right for you, take a close look at your needs and preferences.

If you care about protecting your money, using a multi-sig wallet is a good idea. Additional protection will help prevent the theft of your money, as well as ensure that other people can access your funds if you cannot find them. This will prevent a single mistake or hack from completely blocking access to your cryptocurrency. A multi-signature wallet is also useful if your funds are controlled by multiple users. If you are part of a cryptocurrency group or business, multi-sign wallets will ensure that all transactions are conducted fairly and properly.

However, when you are doing a lot of fast transactions in your wallet, the multi-sig protocol can get in the way. You might want to avoid using it if you don't think you will have time to wait for other signers to enter their private keys. Also, think twice about using a multisig wallet if you find it difficult to work with new technologies. This doesn't necessarily prevent you from using multisig wallets, but they do require some learning. You should be prepared to spend a little time getting to know your multisig wallet before you start using it for all your cryptocurrencies.

Final thoughts

A multisig wallet requires multiple private keys to be entered before making any cryptocurrency transactions. This process can help address security concerns and make it easier for groups of people to have fair control over funds. If you can learn how to use these wallets and don't need lightning fast transactions, they can be a very useful way to manage your crypto assets.

Rate this article
Blockchain media

Что такое мультисиг-кошелек (multisig) и как он работает?

Что такое мультисиг-кошелек (multisig) и как он работает?

Мультисиг-кошелек (multisig) может стать одним из самых ценных инструментов для криптоэнтузиастов. Однако многие инвесторы никогда раньше даже не слышали об этом термине. Итак, что же такое мультисиг-кошелек? Изучите наше руководство, чтобы узнать, что это такое, и понять, стоит ли вам им пользоваться.

Что такое мультисиг-кошелек?

Мультисиг-кошелек — это особый тип криптокошелька для безопасного хранения криптовалюты. Вы можете получить доступ к криптовалюте только в том случае, если две или более подписи введены вместе.

Кошелек multisig можно считать чем-то вроде многоключевой надежной депозитной ячейки. В таком ящике хранятся активы, которые можно открыть, только вставив несколько ключей в несколько замков. Мультисиг-кошелек — это, по сути, цифровая версия. Криптовалюта хранится в кошельке, а транзакции могут быть проведены только после того, как несколько пользователей введут свои уникальные подписи или ключи.

Кошельки Multisig существуют с 2013 года, и они бывают разных форм. Когда вы настраиваете кошелек, вы можете решить, сколько именно закрытых ключей доступно и сколько их необходимо для открытия кошелька. Распространенным вариантом является мультисигма «два из трех». Этот стиль имеет три уникальные подписи, и любые две из трех могут быть использованы для подтверждения подлинности транзакции. Другие распространенные варианты включают кошельки «три из пяти», «два из двух» и «пять из семи».

Как работает кошелек Multisig?

Независимо от того, сколько у вас держателей ключей, основной процесс использования кошелька multisig всегда одинаков. Все начинается с того, что один из пользователей решает совершить транзакцию с помощью кошелька. Он вводит детали транзакции в кошелек и вводит свой ключ для подписания транзакции. Однако транзакция еще не завершена. Она будет находиться в состоянии ожидания, пока все необходимые ключи не подпишут транзакцию. После ввода необходимого количества ключей кошелек сам подписывает транзакцию — и отправляет средства на соответствующий адрес.

У мультисиг-кошельков нет иерархии. Например, если кошелек multisig требует четыре из пяти закрытых ключей для подтверждения транзакции, то для завершения транзакции не требуется специальная подпись. Вместо этого любые четыре из пяти пользователей могут подписать транзакцию в любом порядке. Срок действия транзакций не истекает. Предложения по транзакциям остаются незавершенными до тех пор, пока не будут представлены все необходимые подписи.

Одноключевые кошельки против многоключевых кошельков

Кошельки Multisig имеют несколько ключевых отличий от стандартных одноключевых кошельков. Одноключевой адрес обычно является основным методом хранения Bitcoin и других криптовалют. Пользователи, владеющие монетами, имеют единый закрытый ключ, который они могут использовать для доступа к своим средствам и их перевода. Этот метод может хорошо работать для частных пользователей.

Однако все становится сложнее, когда криптовалюта используется для бизнеса или групповых усилий. В прошлом были случаи, когда компания не могла получить доступ к своим средствам, потому что единственный владелец ключа не мог или не хотел совершать транзакции. Например, когда генеральный директор компании QuadrigaCX Джерри Коттен умер в декабре 2018 года, ключ к криптовалюте на сумму более 137 миллионов долларов был утерян. Использование процесса мультисиг упрощает доступ к средствам и позволяет разным сотрудникам проводить транзакции по мере необходимости.

Хотя мультисиг-кошельки обеспечивают дополнительную безопасность и надежность, они несколько усложняют процесс. Пользователи с одним ключом имеют больший контроль над своими средствами. Им не нужно получать разрешение от других людей на проведение транзакций или выполнять дополнительные действия, связанные с использованием их кошельков.

Мультисиг-кошелек: преимущества

Мультисиговые кошельки популярны, потому что они предоставляют несколько уникальных преимуществ для криптотрейдеров.

Повышенная безопасность

Одно из главных преимуществ этих кошельков заключается в том, что они обеспечивают резервный план на случай, если что-то пойдет не так. Пока ваш кошелек не требует всех подписей для доступа к средствам, вы можете избежать блокировки.

Например, вы можете создать кошелек «два из трех» и хранить один закрытый ключ на телефоне, один на ноутбуке и один на листе бумаги. В случае кражи или потери одной из ваших подписей вы все равно сможете получить доступ к своим средствам. Поэтому мультисиговые кошельки могут стать отличным способом решения проблем безопасности.

Двухфакторная аутентификация

Требование наличия нескольких подписей также обеспечивает двухфакторную аутентификацию (2FA). Если кто-то сможет украсть один из ваших ключей, вы все равно сможете запретить ему снимать средства с вашего счета. Вы можете хранить все закрытые ключи самостоятельно или передать их другим лицам. В любом случае, это гарантирует, что каждая транзакция будет полностью проверена до ее завершения.

Принятие решений

Когда ключи от кошелька распределены между несколькими людьми, это позволяет группе совместно контролировать средства. Каждый может видеть средства и предлагать изменения, но никто не может переводить средства самостоятельно. Это очень удобно при принятии деловых решений. По сути, кошелек действует как форма голосования, при которой транзакции проходят только при согласии определенного большинства пользователей.

Эскроуированные транзакции

Когда вы проводите транзакции с другой стороной, может быть полезным хранение средств в эскроу. Эскроу-транзакции, по сути, гарантируют, что ни одна из сторон не сможет получить средства, услуги или продукты, если другая сторона не выполнит свою часть сделки. Два из трех кошельков позволяют заключать контракты с криптовалютой на условиях эскроу. Эти сделки начинаются с того, что плательщик вносит свои средства в кошелек. Как только другая сторона предоставляет оговоренные товары или услуги, обе стороны могут подписать кошелек для перевода средств продавцу. В случае возникновения споров существует беспристрастная третья сторона с ключом, которая может присудить средства продавцу или покупателю в зависимости от необходимости.

Мультисиг-кошелек: риски и недостатки

Хотя мультисиговые кошельки весьма полезны, они работают не во всех ситуациях. Существуют некоторые потенциальные недостатки.

Скорость транзакции

Добавление дополнительных требований к подписи, как правило, несколько увеличивает продолжительность транзакции. Если вы можете связаться с другими владельцами ключей и скоординировать транзакцию, это не займет много времени. Однако когда вы не можете связаться с другим участником, все становится сложнее. Транзакции, которые в противном случае были бы завершены за несколько секунд, могут занять несколько дней.

Технические знания

Настройка мультисигового кошелька потребует нескольких дополнительных шагов. Часто приходится работать через стороннего поставщика кошельков, что может несколько усложнить процесс. Поскольку кошелькам multisig всего несколько лет, бывает трудно объяснить другим, как они работают, а правовое регулирование еще не догнало новую технологию. Особенно при создании кошелька multisig для своего бизнеса важно тщательно изучить принцип работы кошельков и убедиться, что вы все делаете правильно.

Мошенничество

Предоставление другим лицам доступа к вашим средствам может быть рискованным. Хотя это и редкость, но бывали случаи, когда люди создавали кошелек multisig, а затем их друзья, родственники или деловые партнеры забирали деньги.

Кошельки multisig также вовлечены в некоторые распространенные виды онлайн-мошенничества. Типичная афера с multisig начинается с того, что продавец предлагает дешевую криптовалюту, а затем говорит, что вышлет покупателю ключ для кошелька. Покупатель не знает, что кошелек на самом деле является одним из двух мультисиговых кошельков, и мошенник удаляет деньги из кошелька, как только жертва платит.

Лучшие мультисиг-кошельки для использования

Имейте в виду, что не все мультисиговые кошельки одинаковы. Различные криптокошельки имеют разный уровень функциональности. Вот несколько наиболее популярных вариантов среди криптоинвесторов.

Armory

Armory — это наиболее часто используемый мультисиг-кошелек для BTC. Он полезен тем, что предоставляет множество различных стилей кошельков и имеет встроенную защиту от некоторых взломов. Еще один большой плюс Armory в том, что он предлагает автономный режим, при котором вы храните свои приватные ключи на USB-накопителях. Только имейте в виду, что вам, возможно, придется заплатить комиссию за транзакции, если вы хотите получить доступ к определенным функциям.

Electrum

Electrum — один из старейших мультисиговых кошельков для BTC. Интерфейс этого кошелька очень удобен и безопасен. Вы устанавливаете его на свое устройство без необходимости загружать весь блокчейн, и он интегрируется с другими кошельками, такими как Ledger и Trezor. Electrum также очень прост в использовании, поскольку работает с простой верификацией платежей. Единственным недостатком этого кошелька является то, что он не поддерживает другие валюты, кроме биткоина.

Carbon

Самое большое преимущество Carbon Wallet заключается в том, что это мультивалютный кошелек. В отличие от многих других кошельков, он позволяет добавлять в свой кошелек множество лучших криптовалют, включая токены стандарта ERC-20. Это делает Carbon Wallet идеальным для предприятий, которые работают с большим количеством смарт-контрактов. Однако обратите внимание, что Carbon Wallet — это горячий кошелек, который всегда подключен к Интернету. Это делает его немного более уязвимым для онлайн-атак.

BitGo

BitGo — это биткоин-кошелек, который позволяет осуществлять множество полезных мультисиговых интеграций. В отличие от многих других криптовалютных кошельков, BitGo позволяет интегрировать кошелек со сторонними криптовалютными биржами. Какую бы интеграцию вы ни использовали, интерактивный дизайн Bitgo интуитивно понятен и прост в использовании. Его кошелек с открытым исходным кодом имеет множество полезных опций, таких как бесплатная страховка от взлома, а также настольная или веб-версия. Только имейте в виду, что за эти расширенные возможности придется заплатить немного больше.

Стоит ли использовать мультисиг-кошелек?

Использовать или нет мультисиг-кошелек, зависит от вашей ситуации. Его часто рекомендуют для групп людей или для индивидуальных пользователей, предпочитающих повышенную конфиденциальность. Однако если вы легко путаетесь в технологиях или нуждаетесь в быстрых транзакциях, мультисиг-кошелек может вам не подойти. Чтобы решить, подходят ли вам эти кошельки, внимательно изучите свои потребности и предпочтения.

Если вы заботитесь о защите своих денег, использование мультисигового кошелька — хорошая идея. Дополнительная защита поможет предотвратить кражу ваших денег, а также обеспечит доступ к вашим средствам другим людям, если вы не сможете их найти. Это не позволит одной ошибке или взлому полностью заблокировать доступ к вашей криптовалюте. Многосиговый кошелек также полезен, если ваши средства контролируются несколькими пользователями. Если вы являетесь частью группы или предприятия, использующего криптовалюту, многосиговые кошельки обеспечат справедливое и надлежащее проведение всех транзакций.

Однако, когда вы совершаете много быстрых транзакций в своем кошельке, многосиговый протокол может помешать. Возможно, вы захотите избежать его использования, если считаете, что у вас не будет времени ждать, пока другие подписавшие его лица введут свои закрытые ключи. Кроме того, подумайте дважды об использовании multisig-кошелька, если вам сложно работать с новыми технологиями. Это не обязательно запрещает вам использовать мультисиговые кошельки, но они требуют некоторого обучения. Вы должны быть готовы потратить немного времени на изучение возможностей своего мультисиг-кошелька, прежде чем начать использовать его для всех своих криптовалют.

Заключительные размышления

Мультисиг-кошелек требует ввода нескольких закрытых ключей перед совершением любых криптовалютных транзакций. Этот процесс может помочь решить проблемы безопасности и облегчить группам людей справедливый контроль над средствами. Если вы сможете научиться пользоваться этими кошельками и вам не нужны молниеносные транзакции, они могут стать очень полезным способом управления вашими криптовалютными средствами.

Оцените статью
Blockchain Media
Добавить комментарий